Great turnout and perfect weather for Alton 10

By Surrey and Hants News in Athletics

The 34th running of the Alton 10, on May 7, was a great success.

Despite last year’s exceptionally hot conditions and the course’s tough reputation, the number of entrants rose and more than 500 people completed the race.

The Alton 10 is part of the Hampshire Road Race League but also attracts entries from club runners from surrounding counties and local residents keen on the challenge.

Conditions were perfect at the start of the race, which began outside Treloar College before proceeding through Holybourne, the hilly lanes of Binsted, Blacknest, Bentley and Isington before returning to Alton to finish the 10-mile route at Eggar’s School.

Alton Town Mayor Cllr Matthew Bayliss was on hand to present prizes to the winners.

The overall winner - in a time of 53 minutes 06 seconds, more than three minutes faster than last year’s winner - was Joe Morwood of Aldershot, Farnham & District AC. In second place was Stuart Holloway of City of Salisbury AC & RC (53:58), followed by Toby Lambert of Winchester & District AC (54:21).

The winner of the women’s race was Kathy Bailey of Winchester & District AC, in 1:01:59, almost five minutes quicker than last year’s. Second was Emma Jolley of City of Portsmouth AC (1:02:37) and third Charlie Metcalfe of Ryde Harriers (1:04:09).

Age category winners were:

Senior women: Karla Borland, Southampton AC.

Senior men: Joe Morwood, Aldershot, Farnham & District AC.

Over-35 women: Emma Jolley, City of Portsmouth AC.

Over-40 men: Alex Hamilton, Basingstoke & Mid Hants AC.

Over-45 women: Kathy Bailey, Winchester & District AC.

Over-50 men: Graham Bungay, Totton RC.

Over-55 women: Lynne Whitaker, Winchester & District AC.

Over-60 men: Russell Burton, Basingstoke & Mid Hants AC.

Over-65 women: Margaret Moody, Basingstoke & Mid Hants AC.

Over-70 men: Malcolm Reynard, Hardley Runners.

There was a great turnout from Alton Runners.

The first male Alton Runner home was Leonard Passingham, who finished 12th in a time of 58:32, followed by Carlos Garcia (30th, 1:02:11), Eli Dawson (84th, 1:08:09), Chris Sandy (88th, 1:08:17), Richard Taylor (101st, 1:09:51), Jon Gould (132nd, 1:12:00), Michael Sennett (138th, 1:12:22); Jamie Kilner-Smith (160th, 1:14:40), Dave Eggleston (184th, 1:16:53), Jim Armitage (187th, 1:17:02), Michael Pearce (215th, 1:20:23), Amir Savage (237th, 1:23:07), Dominic Nixon (245th, 1:24:09) and David Molyneux (276th, 1:32:18).

The first female Alton Runner was Julie Humphreys (12th, 1:11:56), followed by Caroline Chalk (23rd, 1:14:46), Nichola Gordon-Jones (25th, 1:15:25), Beth Swadling (42nd, 1:18:57), Daisy Chetwode (52nd, 1:20:00), Jane Scrase (68th, 1:23:35), Fran Light (74th, 1:24:09), Clare Read (80th, 1:25:41), Felicity Arnaud (113th, 1:29:50), Rosella Guidetti (126th, 1:33:31) and Gemma Langley (148th, 1:38:07).

The organisers would like to thank Alton Lions for marshalling, those Alton Runners and others who volunteered to help out, Alton Sports for supporting the race, Town & Country Cars, Holybourne, for providing a car for the racing clock, 8th Alton Scouts for refreshments at the finish and two water stations on the course, and the Boys Brigade for providing a further water station on the course.

The race is organised by Alton Runners and Alton Lions and all profits go to local charities.